The Twelve Days of (SQL) Christmas

Once upon a time a group of twelve bloggers agreed to each pick a post (or posts)  they found interesting from the previous year, blog about them, comment, and call attention to them. I was tapped to summarize things, and here we go.

On the twelfth day of Christmas Stuart gave to me, the ghosts of SQL Christmas past, present, and future to read. (A few posts that remind us blogging is a great way to save code)

On the eleventh day of Christmas Mike Walsh gave to me, a post that I’d like to read to thee. (It’s a great one, well written, and enjoyable on backups)

On the tenth day of Christmas Chrys Manson gave to me, a reason the transaction log we need… (OK, a bad rhyme, but a great look at why the log is required)

On the ninth day of Christmas Kendra Little gave to me, a deep dive into locks that we can’t see (a look at shared locks, or those missing locks)

On the eighth day of Christmas Karen Lopez gave to me, the rules of design that so many don’t seem to read (over normalization, is it possible?)

On the seventh day of Christmas Yanni Robel gave to us, a reminder of all changes we must not trust (production needs to be controlled)

On the sixth day of Christmas Tim Ford gave to me, the advice that I need to learn to heed. (listening is a skill we can all improve)

On the fifth day of Christmas Erin Stellato gave to me, a series that teaches parallels in threes. (a great series on parallelism from Adam Machanic)

On the fourth day of Christmas Andy Leonard gave to me, a look forward to what SSIS really needs. (Denali SSIS parameters)

On the third day of Christmas Dave Stein gave to us, a post that covers SSIS over lunch. (Todd McDermid looks at SSIS)

On the second day of Christmas Grant Fritchey gave to me, a way to execute Powershell from the lee. (remoting with Powershell)

On the first day of Christmas Jeremiah Peschka gave to me, a way to find a table lost at sea (or in this case, you’ve deleted it).

It has been a wonderful year for blogging, speaking, and the general sharing of information with others. The SQL community seems to be unlike any other technical community, much more willing to share, help, and work with each other in a way that reminds me of an extended family. It is wonderful to be a part of this community, and I look forward to an even great 2011.

Happy Holidays and don’t forget to set some goals for the next year, and maybe become a part of the 12 days in 2011.

About way0utwest

Editor, SQLServerCentral
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.