Skip to content

Standing Desk – Flooring

August 10, 2012

My standing desk experiment has worked out well. I have gotten used to standing there and I’ve slowly found places for my coffee, water, phone, and other things that I use at my desk. I still need to work on the keyboard/mouse stand, but that’s a future project. Today I talk flooring.

When Buck Woody mentioned using a pad on the floor, I chalked some of it up to his sitting for a long time at a desk. I wondered with my three years of running if it would matter to me. In my first month or working in the basement, on the hard cement floor, I was fine. I was wearing shoes, however, since it was cold down there.

When I moved upstairs, I had an area carpet, but then wooden floors. I didn’t think much of it until I worked a couple of days in bare feet during the summer. I could feel my calves and legs aching a bit and they were tired. Even my knees were slightly sore.

I made sure I had shoes on every day, either thick soled Merrill Mocs or running shoes. That worked, but I wondered if that was the best idea. Even with shoes, I might be wearing out my body a bit.

The other day I decided to experiment, and spent $20 on an anti-fatigue mat at Home Depot. Actually $24 and change, but it wasn’t a big investment. I put it on top of the carpet for now to see.

Photo Aug 01, 8 35 29 AM

It’s an open mat, with lots of circles in it. This is the type of mat I’d stood on in restaurants while working as a cook or bartender. It’s not conducive to bare feet as it is, but my initial test was to see how it worked with shoes. As you can see, I left the tag on since I’m not sure I want to keep this.

After two days on this, it’s hard to tell if there’s a difference. I’ve got some sore legs already, so I’m not sure. I think I need to move it below a surface and try it on bare feet. If this doesn’t work, I can always use this in the shop, so there’s no great loss.

From → Blog

2 Comments
  1. They do have the solid mats at Bed, Bath, and Beyond and places like that. They are intended for the kitchen, so they should be durable. I’m thinking about getting a couple for key areas in our kitchen where I’m always working.

  2. Roland Alexander permalink

    What I find very helpful is a platform raised about a foot off the floor. Almost anything will do: a wooden box, a plastic tote (has to be sturdy though), even an ottoman (well, some ottomans). The idea is that you spend some time with one foot elevated and the other on the floor. This gives one leg a rest while the other takes the load. I recently adopted upright working and spend about half of every hour resting one or the other leg; the rest of the time, I’m standing on two. I find that doing this leaves me much less fatigued at the end of a day.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,733 other followers

