Skip to content

T-SQL Tuesday #35 – Soylent Green

October 9, 2012

tsqltuesdayThis month’s host is Nick Haslam (b | t) and he bases his question on the movie Soylent Green, which I haven’t seen. This month he asks what the most horrifying thing you’ve seen in SQL Server. It’s been a long few weeks for me, so I‘ll keep this short.

As an FYI, if you want to host or participate, contact Adam Machanic.

Horrifying

The thing that first comes to mind for me is my first job in Denver. I had interviewed with a small financial services firm looking for a DBA. We thought it was a good fit and I came out to start work in early 1999. Fortunately my wife stayed back in Virginia to sell our house and I was alone since I ended up working a lot.

The first surprise I had when I arrived for work was that not only was I responsible for the databases (v6.5), but that I was also going to manage the network administrator. He wasn’t that experienced and needed some guidance because we were experiencing daily problems.

The second surprise was that all of our applications used the sa account. We had 3 or 4 standalone workstations devoted to loading pricing and position information every morning from clients, all using SA. We also had a web application and a thick client application (VB6) that allowed clients to authenticate with a name and password (stored in plain text) in the database, but the connection to SQL Server as with sa.

However the most horrifying thing was that all developers used the “sa” account to connect to our database servers, in development, QA, and production, with the same password.

A scary situation.

The daily issues actually helped here. I started to tackle our problems, requiring the developers to fix the applications one by one, using a normal user account. It required months just to convince our management that stability was compromised by developers making changes in production, but we were able to change the sa password in all environments and make it different. We then started to require applications to use difference accounts, and a year later, we had ad least provided more stability by removing the “quick fixes” made in production.

All sorts of poor practices at that job, and when I left after almost two years, there were still numerous issues.

From → Blog

2 Comments
  1. thomasrushton permalink

    The last firm I worked for (in a “real” job) had a similar password policy – all users must use password “foo” , and the admin password must be “bar” (passwords changed to protect the guilty). The problem was that virtually everyone in the firm knew the admin password.

    That was but one part of the horror. Even though I explained the problem, and the fact that they didn’t have to do this in order to deal with their perceived problem (“but we need to be able to access anybody’s files”), it still took years to get them to change their minds. I can’t remember if any server outages were involved in that decision! ;-)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Soylent Green – The Aftermath – #TSQL2sday « Dev Blog

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,956 other followers

