Skip to content

Windows Server 2012 and Hyper-V

October 11, 2012

I recently went to a Microsoft event in Denver on Windows Server 2012 and Hyper-V improvements. Harold Wong (b | t) showed quite a few demos and there’s a number of demos and notes from the talks on his blog.

I haven’t looked much at the Windows server OS’s in years and not much at Hyper-V. I’m sure the actual implementation isn’t as easy or smooth as in the talks, but it did make me think there’s no reason virtualization shouldn’t be considered for SQL Servers, especially as you move to newer hardware.

From → Blog

2 Comments
  1. I recently built out an AlwaysOn and BI environment using Windows Server 2012 and Hyper V. Note this is all on my laptops secondary drive. The biggest challenge was configuring the virtual network, but once I figured that out it was pretty simple.

  2. Brandon Leach permalink

    We’re 85% virtualized at my office. While there are some differences in how we manage our sql infrastructure, its was a pretty easy transition.

    I think it’s pretty important that as DBAs we familiarize ourselves with how virtualization works. For example volumes on the os are stored in datastores at the VM level. Its possible for multiple servers to use the same datastores.

    We can actually end up with a situation where an os volume is only half full but the datastore itself is full and thus the os volume is actually out of space. Also a full datastore can potentially shut down your server.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,297 other followers

