Skip to content
Tags

Innovation

October 12, 2012
apple II

As a kid, I thought this was the coolest invention around.

Computers are so cool. I remember thinking that as a kid, thinking about how I could tell a computer to do something for me with a little programming. Some of my programs weren’t that impressive, such as the ones that helped me perform chemistry lab calculations on an Apple II, but they were helpful. I remember having so many ideas about what I could make a computer do that I couldn’t even find time to work on a fraction of them.

I think many of us have a similar excitement by computers, but the seemingly limitless number of things they can do. We love to be creative, and innovative, in how we get computers and applications to work together. Even administrators have some very creative ways they are using technology to manage or work with groups of computers.

This Friday, as you have your morning coffee (or tea, as Brian Kelleyprefers), I’m wondering if that creativity is important in your company. When you think about the way management views Information Technology, the jobs of you and your peers, how would you answer this?

Does innovation matter much at your organization?

There’s a good management article that talks about the ways in which innovation and creativity can be fostered. Some of this is important in all companies, but not in all jobs. Sometimes management just wants a job to do a job well. Is that the case for you?  While I’d like to see more managers fostering innovation at all positions, do you think it matters for your job?

Steve Jones


The Voice of the DBA Podcasts

We publish three versions of the podcast each day for you to enjoy.

From → Editorial

One Comment
  1. Alan Dykes permalink

    When I first started my current position (about a year and a half ago) I thought management wasn’t interested in innovation. What I found instead is that management and employees were complacent. This year there has been a lot of push from management about innovation and I’ve found that they really have been responsive to most ideas; either offering a reason we can’t do that or making an effort to understand better and maybe change something. It’s been refreshing compared to my previous employer who regularly had meetings to “involve” the employees where management just pushed whatever ideas they had so they could get a track record of coming up with ideas.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,635 other followers

