Skip to content

SQL and Skiing – SQL Saturday #183

January 30, 2013

This weekend of SQL Saturday #183 in Albuquerque, NM. It’s the first SQL Saturday in that state, and it’s a relatively short drive from Colorado. Six hours from my house, S of Denver, and a nice city. My brother used to live there, and I made a few trips to see him.

I’m looking forward to going back, but not to tour the city. I’m sure that would be fun, but there’s a side diversion between Denver and Abuquerque:  Taos.

Taos, NM has two ski resorts nearby: Taos Ski Valley and Angel Fire. I’ve never been to either of them, and I’d like to see what it’s like to ski in New Mexico. A few of my fellow Coloradans feel the same way and we’ve organized a bit of a caravan trip.

Two or three of us are planning to drive Thursday night with two or three passengers, for a total of 5 or 6. We’ll ski Friday and then continue down to Albuquerque for the speaker event Friday night and SQL Saturday #183 on Saturday. A few of us will then go back to Taos on Saturday. Whether we will ski on Sunday depends on how these older bodies feel.

I love the SQL Saturday events, and think they’re a great chance to teach people things, learn things, and give vendors a chance to meet potential customers face to face. However the networking is one of the best opportunities that I’ve seen from these events. The chance to meet other SQL Server professionals, find out what they are doing, learn about new features, functions, applications and opportunities is amazing.

The chance to bond and make a new friend or acquaintance is one you shouldn’t pass up. You never know when you network might help you, and there are plenty of companies that view networks as more important than recruiters.

I’m looking forward to some networking on the drive, getting to better know the people I’ve met at many local events. I’m also looking forward to speaking on Branding at the event and meeting even more SQL Server pros from New Mexico.

If you get the chance to attend an event, it’s worth your time if you meet people and talk with them. I encourage you to try this in the future, especially at a SQL Saturday. Talk to people in sessions, between them, or even later at the after party.

From → Blog

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,522 other followers

