Skip to content

A Learning Experiment at SQL Saturday #187– Richmond

February 25, 2013

dbateamlogoIn a little over a week, SQL Saturday #187 takes place in Richmond, VA. I’m looking forward to going back as I attended school not too far from there (Charlottesville), and even worked on the West side of Richmond for a time. My brother lives in MD and my mother in Virginia Beach, so it’s a good time for an extended weekend visiting family.

However I’m also extending my trip before the weekend. Red Gate Software is experimenting with a short learning seminar on Friday. After last year’s SQL in the City, large events with hundreds of people, we’re trying something new again this year. We have a free half day set of talks scheduled on Friday, from 1-5, given by Grant Fritchey and myself. We’ll each give two talks, with networking time in between. We are planning on covering four topics:

  • Core Monitoring
  • SQL Server Backup
  • Database Corruption
  • Indexing

It will be an interesting day as Grant and I have been working on our talks, trying to make them interesting to the attendees. We are linking the content to Red Gate tools, but don’t worry, these aren’t infomercials. We are delivering valuable information to help you in your job, whether you use Red Gate tools or not.

Afterwards we’ll have a short happy hour as well before we start prepping for the Saturday event.

You can register today, and there are still a few slots left, but this will be a small event, so my apologies if you can’t get in.

Saturday is the SQL Saturday event at the University of Richmond campus. There’s a great lineup of speakers from the Virginia area and beyond for you. If you can come, it’s a free day of SQL Server information and training with tons of networking opportunities.

Come join me if you can.

From → Blog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,529 other followers

