Skip to content

Windows 8 and Google Calendar

March 8, 2013

I use the Google calendar service extensively. I host my domain there and I’ve gotten used to the calendar. When I set up my Windows 8 desktop, I was curious if I could use the built in calendar app instead of living in a web browser.

A quick search found this link, which worked just fine for me. I added my Google account and I had my various appointments and note appear in Windows 8. Very smooth, and very nice.

I have tended to use the online calendar from Google, but it’s definitely easy to read the “Metro” interface for the calendar. I haven’t used it a lot, but I may use it more over time since it’s easier to read in full screen format than any of the browsers or Outlook items.

The downside? On a desktop, getting to the calendar isn’t as simple as I’d like. The hover in the upper left corner doesn’t always work and if I move the mouse wrong, I lose the switch capabilities.

From → Blog

2 Comments
  1. Steve, when did you set this up? I host databaseguy.com at Google also, but I cannot get Windows 8 Calendar to connect to my databaseguy.com calendar no matter what I try. I see that Google dropped support for EAS (which is an Exchange protocol) in January, thus breaking Google Sync for everyone who didn’t have a *paid* GAFYD account. Do you have the paid version? Mine is free. If you are syncing Google Calendar on free GAFYD with Windows 8, I’d love to hear more about how you did it.

    Thanks,
    Chris

    • I did this a few weeks ago. I do have a custom domain with Google, and I pay a small amount ($25 or so) for them to host my domain email, so perhaps that’s it? I’ve verified that appointments I’ve entered in the last week on the web or in my phone are appearing in my Win 8 calendar.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,516 other followers

