Skip to content
Tags

The Ratio

October 4, 2013

It seems we never have enough staff in many of our technology departments. I have worked in companies where I thought we had too many IT employees, but somehow it seemed my department was always short of resources.

However one thing that I’ve seen almost universally is a larger number of developers than DBAs in most companies. That makes sense as I think there usually is more code to write than instances to administer, and I’ve usually found companies have to hire a few developers before they see the need for a DBA of any sort, whether production or development focused.  I’ve also found the relative levels of staffing have widely varied.

This week I’m curious what ratios you’ve seen between these two jobs. I’d like an answer to this question, based on your experience:

How many developers does a DBA support?

I’m looking for the real ratios that you’ve experienced. In the places where I’ve developed code, or worked with developers I’ve typically seen about 1:10 DBAs to developers, but that number has varied. I’ve seen 1:5 and 1:20+, but in most cases it’s been near 1:10.

Let us know this week and get a little market research that might help you convince your boss that you need a helper or two.

Steve Jones

Video and Audio versions

Today’s podcast features music by Everyday Jones. No relation, but I stumbled on to them and really like the music. Support this great duo at www.everydayjones.com.

Follow Steve Jones on Twitter to find links and database related items and announcements.
Steve Jones Windows Media Video ( 12.5MB) feed

MP4 iPod Video ( 15.0MB) feed

MP3 Audio ( 3.4MB) feed

Feeds are available at iTunes and Mevio

To submit an article, rant or editorial,
log in to the Contribution Center

From → Editorial

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,515 other followers

