Skip to content

Powershell in a Month Day 11 – Filtering

January 20, 2014

This is part of my Powershell Challenge, to learn more about PowerShell (PoSh) using the Learn Windows Powershell 3 in a Month of Lunches book by Don Jones.

I’ve learned that the dash (-) is going to be my friend. Filtering and comparisons are the backbone of SQL. We use them all the time in our WHERE clauses. In Powershell, we have similar comparisons as I’ve seen, but almost always as I use the eq, ge, le, ne, etc. comparisons, there is the need to include a dash before them. Same thing for -and and -like (see I’m doing it).

This chapter looks at filtering, and how you can reduce the information returned from cmdlets to just those items that you need. The idea of “filtering left”, meaning including the filter as soon as possible in the command. Since commands are interpreted and executed left to right, filtering left means less processing where possible. However since not all cmdlets include a -filter parameter, you must use the WHERE-OBJECT cmdlet.

Overall, the idea of filtering and using comparisons is very much core to what we do in SQL and what happens in many programming algorithms as we look to make decisions in our applications. This chapter helps to understand this.

I also learned about the “$_.” syntax, which is really  a way to specify a generic object and then specify a property for all instances of that object. So if I’m looking at the name for something, I want to use “$_.Name” syntax. I had wondered what that was for in the last chapter, but now this makes sense.

The lab, however, was challenging. I want to use the WHERE syntax when I can do things easier. For example, getting a list of services whose names are “conhost” or “svchost”. I entered:

PS C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0> get-process | where {$_.Name -match "Conhost" -or $_.Name -match "Svchost"}

Way too much overkill. This would do it.

get-process -name conhost,svchost

That’s an area where I need more practice and need to work on things. I suspect much of my initial Powershell work will be more complex, without filtering occurring in the most left point it could unless I manage to understand the details of various commands.

From → Blog

One Comment
  1. the idea of filtering and using comparisons is very much core to what we do in SQL and what happens in many programming algorithms as we look to make decisions in our applications. This chapter helps to understand this.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,697 other followers

