Skip to content

Getting RUN back in Windows 8

March 27, 2014

Recently I heard a few people that note that they were really hoping the next update for Windows 8 will bring back the “Run button”, which was available in XP and Windows 7. I guess it was in Vista, but we won’t talk about that fiasco.

I asked a question to the Intertubes and someone told me to do this:

  • Hit Windows+R
  • Pin the Run item to the taskbar.

It’s that simple, and I tested it in Windows 8. It works well. Here’s what it looks like:

Hit Windows+R, that’s the Windows key and the R button together. That gives you this:

runbutton_a

The Run dialog appears in the lower left hand corner. For me, that’s just above the IE icon (this is Windows 8, not 8.1, no Start menu button) and the last thing I ran is in there. I removed my item, but you will see what you last ran.

Now, if you look in your taskbar, on the right side, you’ll see an icon that is the run dialog. In the image below, I’ve drawn an arrow pointing to it.

runbutton_b

If you right click this icon, you’ll get a menu.

runbutton_c

If you click “Pin”, then this icon will remain in the taskbar. You can click it anytime to get the Run dialog.

From → Blog

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,768 other followers

