Skip to content

Beware the Windows 8.1 Update Upgrade

May 12, 2014

I had Windows 8.0 on my laptop, and went to Win 8.1 earlier this year. Everything went well. Even this spring, when I installed the 8.1 update, things went well on my laptop. This was my test environment, as most days I work on my desktop. I decided to then update my desktop, and things went well overall, until I went to use SQL Server.

At first, I couldn’t connect to SQL Server from SSMS. No big deal, I thought the update had stopped a service. I checked Services, and was surprised to not see a SQL Server database service. I had a browser and VSS service, but nothing else.

I rebooted my machine, which didn’t help. I manually ran sqlservr.exe, and it failed with permissions issued. I tried repairing the SQL install, but that didn’t work either. More than a few people reported similar things, but nothing I found on the Internet worked. I kept getting security SPID errors, so I just uninstalled, and then reinstalled SQL Server.

I’m not sure under which accounts I had my service running, and it’s possible I used my own account, but usually I set up a SQLService account on my machines. In any case, it was a hassle and pain.

I’m not telling you to avoid the 8.1 Update, but I am warning you and noting that you might want to be sure you have good backups of your systems.

From → Blog

6 Comments
  1. I had the same experience. Take a look here: http://spaghettidba.com/2013/10/24/sql-server-services-are-gone-after-upgrading-to-windows-8-1/
    IMHO the service was running under the service SID account.

    • I actually read your post, and was thinking it would help. However it didn’t for me. Repair failed, and I couldn’t get the instance to fix itself, or even uninstall. After I rebooted, I couldn’t install a default instance anymore.

    • Oh! Too bad.
      It would have been interesting to analyze in detail to see what was broken by the upgrade.
      We’ll see when upgrading to Windows 9 :-)

  2. I had similar issues when upgrading from Windows 8.0 to Windows 8.1 ranging from driver issues and start menu items disappearing. It seems to also not be consistent every time. Nowadays I tend to stick with a clean install of Windows 8.1.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Patching Problems | Voice of the DBA
  2. Patching Problems | Voice of the DBA

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,805 other followers

