Skip to content

Quick Tips–SQL Prompt Qualifying Columns

May 28, 2014

I love SQL Prompt, and think it’s a great productivity tool. Even before I worked at Red Gate, I love the tool and had a copy before Red Gate bought the technology from the original developer. Recently I’ve run into a few people that weren’t aware of some of the ways in which it can help you. This is a quick look at one of the ways I use SQL Prompt.

Qualifying Columns

One of the things that’s a good programming practice for T-SQL is to qualify your columns. Imagine that I have this query:

qualify_a

Note that my column names are listed with just the column name and don’t include the table from which they come. Not a big deal here, but as I enhance this code over time, I may add another table to a join, perhaps one that includes BusinessEntityID in it. In that case, I’ll get an ambiguous column error, and a squiggly in SSMS (shown below).

qualify_e

SQL Prompt tries to make writing code quicker and easier, and if I look back to my first query, Prompt can qualify those columns for me.

If I press CTRL+B, CTRL+Q, I’ll get this (from the first query).

qualify_b

Note that every column now includes the table names.

It also works for aliases. If I have this (note I’ve added an alias)

qualify_c

CTRL+B, CTRL+Q gives me this:

qualify_d

As I add tables and modify this code, anytime I find columns unqualified, I can use this quick shortcut to fix my code.

Note: If you have ambiguous columns, Prompt can’t fix them (yet).

From → Blog

2 Comments
  1. the last show in iTunes is from December 2013. How can we subscribe to the current episodes?

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,774 other followers

