The Home Server is Back

After reading about the Amazon/Apple attack this morning, I grabbed a second cup of coffee and went in search of a monitor cord. We’d given a monitor to a friend recently, which was the one rarely used for the Home Server. It wasn’t a big deal since we always log into the Home Server remotely, but we had a power outage and the server went down. Since it’s virtualized, I needed a console to get it started again.

After getting a monitor connected and my virtual server set back up, I immediately kicked off a backup. It’s been down a few weeks, and I’d hate to lose a bunch of work if something happened to the other machines on my network.

I also enabled remote desktop access, so that I can more easily restart things in the future.

Back up your systems. You never know when disaster will strike, which could something as cruel as a hacker or virus wiping your system. As data professionals, we should be more cognizant of the impact of losing information.

About way0utwest

Editor, SQLServerCentral
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Home Server is Back

  1. Will H says:

    What server platform do you use at home?

    • way0utwest says:

      I need to write this up, and I assume you mean for my backups. I have W2K3 and W2k8 for testing, but those are in VMs. For my Windows Home Server, I use a Windows 7 host running Virtual Box. Inside VB, I have Windows Home Server v6 running, which is the older version.

Comments are closed.