Skip to content

Powershell in a Month– Day 4 and 5 – Providers

December 17, 2013

This is part of my Powershell Challenge, to learn more about PowerShell (PoSh) using the Learn Windows Powershell 3 in a Month of Lunches book by Don Jones.

Day 4, and 5. This wasn’t a long chapter, but it came right around travel and vacation, and as a result, I ended up taking about 2 hours across multiple days. Mostly because I had to re-read things and re-type them. As a result, I’m marking this as two days. Plus, this will now line up the chapters.

Providers are the “drivers”, I guess for Powershell. They allow you to interact with various systems through the Powershell commands. Another way of putting it is that they take some item and make it look like a file system. This means you can navigate the registry (with the registry provider) like your disk with CD, DIR, etc. It’s also why you can move through SQL Server in a folder-like hierarchy.

This was a short chapter, and I’m not sure why it took so long, but I moved slow going through the exercises to creates files and folders, learning to use the New-Item or Set-Location commands instead of the mkdir or cd ones.  I did find this interesting.

The lab exercises were easy, and once I could focus, I got through them quickly.

The next chapter is pipelines, which is where I think the power of PowerShell starts to come through.

From → Blog

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Powershell Challenge | Voice of the DBA

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,290 other followers

