Looking Back: #sqldinner at #sqlsummit 2016

Last week was the 2016 Pass Summit, and this was one of the few times that PASS did not provide a large party for the attendees on the Thursday night. That brought back memories as my wife and infant son attended the first summit with me in 1999. We all went out, well, actually my family indulged me, to Comisky Park in Chicago on a cold, October night to catch the last White Sox game of the season that year. I enjoyed it, though I can’t speak to my family or the other 300 people that showed up that night (the White Sox weren’t very good that year).

While there were many vendor parties, including the #RedgateRocks one from my employer, those parties only serve a small percentage of the attendees. I’m sure many technical people end up being “that guy” and go off on their own. That’s easy to do, and something I’ve done many times in my career, especially when I was younger. To give people an alternative, Andy Warren and I set up a #sqldinner meetup.

We had no idea what to expect, and in the afternoon, we hurried to set up a few signs.

(pictures courtesy of Doug Purnell@sqlnikon. Kudos and praise to Doug for his assistance.)

sqldinner_h

We had recruited a few volunteers to help us organize people. The idea was that we’d get people to show up in the lobby of the convention center, ask the to write 3 topics on a card (technical or not), and then our volunteers would help them find 4-5 other people they could go to dinner with.

sqldinner_d

That’s it. Find someone to spend an hour with that you might enjoy.

sqldinner_k

As people wandered down, we got them to talk in groups and look for a group with some common interest. Andy held people in the area for a bit to build a little crowd and then we sent them off. We had cards with restaurant names on them, to try and encourage people to spread out to a variety of locations. If everyone had gone across the street to the Cheesecake Factory, the wait would have spanned hours.

sqldinner_t

The Good

I think things went well, and we ended up sending lots of groups out together, most of them having met their companions for the first time that night. We heard back from a dozen or so people later that night or Friday that they really enjoyed themselves.

sqldinner_p

This was an experiment for us, and we had no idea of 20 people or 200 would come. The result was better than expected.

We had a large crowd. I never did a count, but at one point most of the lobby between the escalators and the lower area was full of people. My conservative estimate is that there were over 300 people there, but it could have been more. Andy and I have had success with some of these events, and they tend to spiral slightly out of control. In a good way, but larger than we expect.

sqldinner_e

The location was great. About 50-70 people came down between 5:30-6, but when the last sessions ended, hundreds of attendees were coming down the escalators. Scott Gleason and Ted Stathakis were very helpful in holding up signs at the bottom of the escalator and encouraging people with no plans to come meet others. I think this really contributed to the size of the crowd.

sqldinner_j

The idea of having people list a few topics was great. While there were attendees that never did more than carry a card at their side, others used this as an ice-breaker to ask others what they were interested in. Some other people walked around looking for those with topics they might like.

Things to Work On

These aren’t bad things, but items that need help.

First, the restaurants. My handwritten cards got lost in the crowd, and we hadn’t disseminated the information to enough volunteers. We really need a way to display a list of restaurants in a highly visible way, perhaps on a large whiteboard or on  a wall. We went with just names, and certainly I know most people can use their phones to look up details, but I think we should have listed the name, price, and a short caption of the type of food. This would help people decide where to go. I’m thinking little tear-off strips at the bottom that might let us manage load as well. Tear off a name and walk away with a group.

sqldinner_s

We didn’t train the volunteers that well. Partially because of time, partially because we weren’t sure how this would go and wanted to experiment. In the worst care, everyone would just walk away and find a place to eat.

However, that’s what they would do anyway.

No great risk here, but next year I’d like to have a few people pitching the idea to attendees, and others that had specific goals of matching people up. Then a few that might manage the restaurant selection. I envision a bit of a workflow with volunteers.

sqldinner_c

The space was great, but it needs more signage, and organization so that we can get groups together and send them to a spot for restaurants, and finally a picture location. Doug got some great shots, and I can’t thank him enough. It would be easier if we organized this a bit, and I’d love to see this as part of the montage before the Friday keynote.

sqldinner_q

The other thing is that I didn’t get my own dinner. Between this, Game Night, and the #RedgateRocks party, I didn’t get anything to eat until I returned to my hotel around midnight. Fortunately, I had a protein bar in my room.

Next Year

I really hope PASS will do this next year as an official meetup. I’m happy to help, but getting some marketing behind the effort, organizing volunteers, and helping with some logistics like a large sign with restaurants would help.

I also think this is the type of thing PASS should be doing. Encourage and promote networking, giving attendees a safe, comfortable way to enjoy their time at the conference.

About way0utwest

Editor, SQLServerCentral
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Looking Back: #sqldinner at #sqlsummit 2016

  1. rsterbal says:

    What is your next step for this idea?

    Like

  2. I absolutely loved both this idea and the board games night, and I’m so happy to hear they were both successful. Attendees want alternatives to parties and large crowds, and this was a fantastic way for them to connect. Thank you so much for organizing! This is on my list of things I want to see again at PASS Summit 2017, and I will do what I can to help make it happen 🙂

    Like

  3. paschott says:

    The networking dinner was a great idea. I had met up with some people before that, but would have taken advantage otherwise. I hope that it continues whether or not you get official support from PASS. I wish I’d shown up a little earlier for the game night to start a game or two, but there were several already going by the time I got there. Still managed a couple of games, but will have to adjust my arrival time next time I get to attend a conference. 🙂 Saw several people gaming at the Sheraton Friday evening so looks like this carried over beyond that night.

    Like

  4. josh says:

    Thanks again for organizing these, I am glad both events were successful! I looking forward to helping out more with the game the next time I’m out! (Sadly I already know next year’s PASS is not in the cards for me due to the Halloween problem.)

    Like

  5. Dave says:

    Thanks again for setting this up. Excellent way to meet people in a low-key/quieter environment that have a better chance to last beyond the Summit.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Looking Back–Game Night at the 2016 #sqlsummit | Voice of the DBA

  7. rsterbal says:

    Steve, I guess I was looking for your time window on this. I’d like to post your game list on my wiki, and wanted to know when it makes sense to publish a 2017 page.

    Like

    • way0utwest says:

      Time window for 2017? No idea right now. Also, feel free to put up a page and start a list of games. Then you could go from there. We had scrabble, monopoly, cards, jenga. Not sure what else we left with the PASS HQ people.

      Like

Comments are closed.